How Long Do You Have To Report a Work-Related Injury? 

If you were injured on the job, you must first file a workers’ comp claim before you can start receiving compensation. When filing a workers’ comp claim, one must follow certain deadlines. How long do you have to report the accident and injury? Filing a workers’ comp claim is a long process, so you should talk to a Richmond workers’ comp lawyer to get answers to this and any other workers’ comp queries you may have. 

How does the workers’ comp claim process work? 

When an employee is injured in the workplace, they must report the injury or the accident to their employer. The employer then fills out the necessary paperwork to file the workers’ comp claim so the injured worker can start receiving their workers’ comp benefits. Every state has certain deadlines that need to be followed. Thus you must know what deadlines are applicable in your state to act fast. 

The process for filing a workers’ com claim may differ from state to state based on the state laws, but typically, the process for a workers’ comp claim is as follows: 

  • After an injury, notify your employer about your injury. 
  • File a former workers’ comp claim. 
  • The employer must provide you with the necessary paperwork to file the claim and give you the required guidance according to your state laws. 
  • The claim is then filed with the insurance provider in compliance with your state’s laws. 

How long do you have to report your injury? 

The deadlines for reporting a work injury differ from state to state. In states like Iowa, the deadline is 90 days. In California and Florida, the deadline is 30 days, and in some states like Colorado, it is as short as ten days. This is why it is important to consult a workers’ comp attorney as soon as possible after your accident so that you do not make any mistakes in filing your claim. 

How long does your employer have to report the injury? 

After you report your injury, your employer also has a deadline for filing the workers’ comp claim. This can also vary from state to state, so consult a legal professional to help understand your state’s laws. 

Talk to a legal professional today 

If you have sustained a work-related injury, you deserve to be compensated. Reach out to an experienced workers’ comp attorney and get professional legal help filing your workers’ comp claims and receiving the maximum benefits you deserve. 

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button